Live At The Drive-In

Sun finally sinks behind the mountains so we can watch the simulcast
Sun finally sinks behind the mountains so we can watch the simulcast
So, Thursday was the big night. Live At The Drive In w/ @Jimmy Buffett. – A concert simulcast from the Coyote Drive-in in Fort Worth, TX.
Now, I am a huge Parrothead and have been to my fair share of concerts (and lived to bury the stories). @RadioMargaritaville is the reason I made sure I could have SiriusXM in all my cars and at home. So I wanted to be able to see this event. However, a Fort Worth road trip was not to be, I was hoping for the next best thing. And in this case, technology was my friend.
Fort Collins, Colorado is home to one of the few remaining drive-in theaters in the state and luckily enough, the local Holiday Twin Drive-in was part of the network of drive-in movie theaters across the country simulcasting the concert. So the moment tickets went on sale, I bought two and hoped for a great summer evening at the drive-in. Now, I suppose I should have checked to make sure that @TamrontechJeff was not on the road first, but I plunged full steam ahead and bought my tickets.
Well, as the fates would have it, @TamronTechJeff is in Colorado but on the @Tamron #TailgateTour so he couldn’t go with me. Panic set in when I got an email from the drive-in stating that there had to be at least 2 people per vehicle. Who else could tolerate my Buffett obsession for several hours?
Fortunately, we have some great friends here in #FoCo – ones we have known almost as long as we have been married. Unfortunately, one of them had to work but with some arm-twisting, the other agreed to accompany me to the drive-in.
The pre-concert crowd in line for food and drink
The pre-concert crowd in line for food and drink

I expected more of a crowd when we pulled up at 5:45 pm for a 6 pm gate. Guess I was used to the tailgaters at a concert who come early, party hard and then pour into the venue for the concert. This event definitely had a little different vibe.
The Holiday Twin Drive-in folks did a great job – handing out Hawaiian leis, great food choices (I was particularly fond of the pulled pork sandwich with grilled pineapple), a live band for pre-concert entertainment and of course, great people watching.
texting, reading, enjoying a cocktail were just a few of the activities undertaken while waiting.
texting, reading, enjoying a cocktail were just a few of the activities undertaken while waiting.
It was definitely an interesting crowd. From people with toddlers to folks who look like they have been partying with JB since the A1A days and everyone in between. Some folks mingled, others stayed with their own group but all in all pretty mellow.
Probably my biggest disappointment was that we didn’t get the event LIVE. Daylight and time zones conspired against us so we got the event on an hour tape delay. Yes, I know that is the story of our lives here in the Mountain Time Zone but once it a while I wish events were timed so they were live for us. Unfortunately, I suspect that means we missed some cool stuff too. Anyway, audio was good through my van’s sound system, mosquitos were minimal and it was fun to watch the concert.
So been there, done that, got the T-shirt. Still waiting for @JimmyBuffett to come back and play @RedRocks like he promised in 2011. Will just keep wishing, hoping, living and dying in 3/4 time.

Leave a Reply

